Cold weather is good for…

Well, I have to admit that cold weather is good for something. It puts me in the mood to cook and bake, anything to warm up.

Since Heidi and Tim both worked today, we bought groceries and made supper for them at their house, roast beef with potatoes and carrots. After we put all that in their crockpot, we came home and I baked pumpkin bread. I sure wish the oven was just a little bit bigger! Half a recipe makes 3 mini loaves, which can all go on the circular rack in the microwave/convection oven. It may be small but it does bake so I can’t really complain. Our first bus didn’t have a working stove at all, just a microwave.

I’m collecting cookie recipes for the next session, some I’ve never made before. My boss for the last 19 years has a wonderful family recipe for ginger cookies and she sent me the recipe. I think I may try my hand at what our family calls “Grandma cookies”, oatmeal, raisins and spices like nothing else I’ve ever tasted. LeRoy made them once but I never have. One thing you can be certain, I won’t be making anything chocolate this holiday. I like a healthy husband!

Soups, ham and beans, lots of cornbread, cookies. These are a few of my favorite things for cold weather. My family will be eating well for awhile.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cold weather is good for…

  1. Katrina says:

    Granne i just love reading everything about your life on the road and your life where ever you are.

Leave a Reply

