Thanksgiving

Oh give thanks unto the Lord, for He is GOOD! Not just on Thanksgiving Day but all year around. I can’t begin to say how grateful I am for that fact, even when I don’t have a perfect life or things don’t turn out just the way I’d hoped. God is good all the time!

We spent the morning drinking coffee and watching the Macy’s parade on television. That’s one of the first things I remember watching regularly after we got our first TV back in the ’50s. Parades on Thanksgiving and New Year’s Day were always a big deal and I still enjoy watching them. We’ve watched several parades this year, but of course small town parades and even Wichita’s River Festival parade don’t hold a candle to Macy’s. I’m not sure I’d like to stand in the cold New York City street to see it, but the Rose Bowl parade in Pasadena on New Year’s Day might be on my wish list for the future.

We were invited to our son-in-law’s family Thanksgiving dinner today. Tim’s mom is a wonderful cook. Her pumpkin and pecan pies would have made a meal in themselves.

The best part of Thanksgiving for me, regardless of what you might hear, is not the food or the football. I love being with family and even talking on the phone to those across the country. 

Robert and Alma had very different weather in Atlanta, GA than we had here. Jake and Baylee, Alma’s dogs, took them for a walk obviously. We talked on the phone and texted several times today. We haven’t always had that privilege and I appreciate it. We’re so glad he’s back in the United States this winter.

Ben’s favorite thing to do on Thanksgiving was the same as it is every day–READ! LeRoy used to say that when our kids were younger, he’d come home for lunch and all he’d see were the tops of heads. Ben sure fits that picture!

Tim had his eye on a football game, although his Chiefs weren’t playing.

Jordan was the only adult grandchild there for more than a few minutes. It’s a shame that as the “kids” grow up, even the ones who live close often don’t make time for family events. Maybe Christmas will be better.

Bailey was bummed that she doesn’t get to go on the shopping outing tomorrow with Heidi and me, so she checked out the sales fliers in today’s paper to be sure we knew what she catches her interest.

Jadelyn was hardly still long enough to get a good picture. She was in the kitchen, upstairs, out the door, playing with Shadrach, keeping busy. Does that face look like her mother or what?

Our other adult grandchild, Katrina, was with extended family near her home in Oklahoma. She’s a joy to have in our lives and we’re looking forward to seeing her in December on her Christmas break. Sorry, no picture of her this time.

The one person for whom I am most thankful didn’t get his picture taken today, at least on my camera. LeRoy is my best friend, my understanding husband of 45 years and my bus driver. He’s also the babysitter for tomorrow, so I’ll owe him big time for this one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving

  1. Ann Murray says:

    Hi Anne and Leroy,
    I enjoyed catching up on your activities with your family. Hope all your medical tests came out OK. My brother Dale Parker (Friends U. grad) and his wife will come on Dec. 22 and stay until Dec. 27. My daughter Tara and 2 of her kids, Lane and India, and Tara’s brother-in-law will drive to Tahlequah, OK Dec. 22-24. Her mother-in-law and Aaron’s grandmother live there. Since Tara’s husband Aaron Cunningham was killed in a motorcycle accident 3 years ago, she has kept in contact with his family. After Christmas India and I will fly to Denver to spend 5 days with my son Aaron and his wife Vicki. India loves traveling with me. I think she just likes getting away from home for awhile for an adventure. She spends time with me while Tara is in her Master’s classes at WSU. She has 3 semesters to go to be a Social Worker. Then she says she wants to move. I do not like that idea!
    Stay warm in your bus/home. Have a very merry Christmas!
    Ann

    • Anne Willis says:

      So good to hear about your family, too! If nothing else, this blog has kept me in touch with school friends, both high school and college, that I wouldn’t have known about and I love that.
      Your daughter sounds like a remarkable woman and I know you want to keep her close. Maybe she’ll move closer to your son and you can go along!

Leave a Reply

