Projects

LeRoy’s generator project is still underway and I even got to help this week. Since he moved the generator from the old position up front, driver’s side, to the new one, passenger side rear, the wiring had to move as well. He spent a lot of time under the bus, fishing the big cord from the back to the front. I had it easy. I got to sit in an empty bay and pull, while his position was a little harder to get into.

going under 1

He was satisfied with that part of the progress and the carburetor conversion from gas to propane should be ready to install this week. Small steps for a dirty guy!

dirty

My project was a lot cleaner. When we first retired, I thought I might sew for an organization called Sew Much Comfort, adapting clothing for disabled veterans, but having a sewing machine set up takes lots of space in a bus with no slides. Then, too, it hurt my back since the table wasn’t the right height. Trying to think of something that wouldn’t take so much space or special equipment, I thought about knitting. I used to enjoy knitting but hadn’t done any for a long time. I found a pattern for prayer shawls, easy enough to get me started again. Over the years, I have made and given away six prayer shawls to friends who had health challenges and might appreciate a warm shawl that was prayerfully knitted, surrounding them in prayer. This last one had been sitting for a long time. I got bogged down in the middle with a flaw in the yarn and just didn’t continue. This week, I found out that a friend from Northridge Friends Church, our Kansas home church, was beginning chemo and I quickly got to work and finished the shawl. It was a wonderful feeling to share it with her!

Leona

The next project for me is to make a few chemo caps just to have on hand in case someone needs a warm hat for thinning hair due to chemo. It keeps me busy and improves my prayer life!

Saturday was homecoming at Friends University and unbelievably, the 50th class reunion for the class I started with. It seems that it’s usually the same ones who return for reunions, but what an enjoyable group of people they are! I was too busy talking to take pictures, but maybe I’ll get some of the official photographer’s shots later. LeRoy started at Friends the year I was a sophomore, but he played football with quite a few of my classmates and they enjoyed catching up, too. Just in case you care, I was young once!¬†Granddaughter Bailey mentioned this morning that I was rocking the cat eye glasses, but everyone did in the ’50s and ’60s.

22279380_10214885299583892_2652632512969040301_n(4)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

