Father’s Day

I don’t know where I was for the first 21 years of my life, but I didn’t really realize until today that Father’s Day on the third Sunday of June was enacted by Lyndon B. Johnson in 1966. Before that, it was not widely accepted, even though it was first celebrated in 1910 in Spokane, Washington. I’m glad it came into being, even if it is mostly a Hallmark holiday, because fathers are very special people. Most of us who have had a good father present in our lives tend to see our Father God in the same way, a kind, guiding presence. My own godly father helped me to see God as someone who cared for me, but he also set an example in our home of how a man should treat his wife and his children.

Mother used to tell me when I begged her for a brother, “Why would you want a brother? He would be just like your dad!”  I think I found a husband who is quite a bit like my dad, someone who is capable of doing anything (in my estimation), is very loving and who is a tease. I’m celebrating him today. Happy Father’s Day, LeRoy!

We also have a son and son-in-law who are understanding and supportive of their own children and I appreciate them, too. Thank you, Robert Willis and Tim Pohlman, for helping raise our grandchildren to be the best grandchildren around. Just like on Mother’s Day, I also have to recognize some other people who have loved our grandkids when we weren’t around. Bob Bradford and Scott Meils were instrumental in our two oldest granddaughters becoming remarkable women.

Last weekend we drove the car back to Kansas so LeRoy could see our family doctor about a knee that’s been giving him trouble. A shot seems to have done a lot toward easing his pain and still letting him do everything he needs to do.

Most places we travel, LeRoy is pretty much recognized as the white haired man with the hat, but here at Golden Bell, he is one of two who answer that description and there’s another fellow who also wears hats. One day this week, we ate breakfast with one of the maintenance guys and his little girl, Abigail. While LeRoy was busy talking (imagine that!), Abigail stole his hat. I think she wore it well.

abigail-in-hat.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

