It’s so different now!

I guess I’m a little nostalgic this week. I love my grandchildren and I’m proud of them all, right where they are, but sometimes I miss the babies and toddlers they used to be. I guess what brought this up is that our youngest granddaughter Jadelyn’s birthday is this week. I have this picture of her on her fourth birthday.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What a difference a few years makes! Jadelyn has grown into a caring and compassionate 12-year-old (well, officially not until Tuesday). She prays daily for a number of people who have cancer and other traumatic illnesses and before her birthday, she told her parents that she would like to shave her head to honor them and their situations. It wasn’t an easy decision and she knew that there might be people who wouldn’t understand. After lots of discussion, she got her wish.

haircut

Our precious, chatty pig-tailed toddler is now eye-to-eye with me and if the rest of the family is any model, will soon have to bend over to hug me. One of my favorite things that often brings tear to my eyes are those hugs from grandchildren and I can’t get too many!

Fortunately, long distance communication is easier than ever now so we do keep in touch, but even at that, hugs are one of the things I’ll miss most when we drive away to a warmer winter. I just have them to look forward to when we drive back.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

