Happy Mother’s Day!

For some reason, I’ve been particularly nostalgic today. Over the years since my mother has been gone, I’ve wished many times that I could tell her about something, a grandchild’s antics or achievements, a problem that could use her wisdom. Today, I just wish I could tell her how much I appreciate what she taught me, the times we’ve laughed together or cried together. Happy Mother’s Day, Mother, until I see you again!

Yesterday, Northridge Friends Church celebrated Tickled Pink!, a morning to celebrate women and girls.

tickled sign

Tickled table

We were served a lovely lunch of chicken salad on croissants, fruit and cheese skewers, Chex mix and cupcakes. Yum!

We are blessed with wonderful photographers in the church and one young woman used her talent to set up a photo booth for us. That’s our daughter Heidi on the left, followed by 3 of her daughters Bailey, Jordan and Jadelyn. Aren’t they beautiful? While it doesn’t look like it, Jadelyn is the only one who is shorter than I am and that won’t last long. The others are all about 5’6″ when they aren’t trying to scrunch into a picture frame.

Tickled Pink 1

Jadelyn was the visiting comedienne for the day. Gotta love those jokes! What is green and fuzzy and if it fell out of a tree, it just might kill you? A pool table! (Groan!)

Saturday afternoon we drove to Hutchinson for LeRoy’s cousin Rodney’s 80th birthday party.

Rodney

When they were married, LeRoy was the token kid in their wedding. Many years later, after they retired, he and his wife Georgia traveled full time with a fifth-wheel for 19 years before poor health took them off the road.

Rodney and Georgia

We’ll be heading out tomorrow morning and will stop in Rogersville, MO for the night if all goes well. The forecast is for rain most of the way so we will be very careful and try to be smart, as well as flexible, about our schedule this week. It sounds as if the rain may travel with us all the way across the country. Prayers would be appreciated!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Lorett C says:

    I can so relate… as my Mom & Grandma have been gone now since 1967. But besides the desire to Hug them, talk with them, or just have a little more time sharing with them about my life… Most of all I too am Thankful to each of them for how much they loved, me, shaped me to become the woman I am today. Their Prayers, their Faith and their lives may have been cut short. But their Love & dedication to their family will continue to live on for many generations! Will be keeping you in my thoughts & prayers. PS: Loved the photo of you, Heidi, and your granddaughters. šŸ™‚ Love you ā¤

Leave a Reply

