Anchorage at LAST!

I guess I’ve never flown toward the northwest at night. We left Minneapolis about 10:30 last night, an hour or so after a beautiful sunset, bound for Alaska. It was pitch black outside my window on the plane after we left the city lights behind. And then I began to see lighter skies ahead, with the colors of sunset on the horizon. What a strange sensation, leaving the darkness behind and flying into the light. There must be a spiritual implication there somewhere if I weren’t too tired to find it! 

We arrived on what must have been the last flight of the night, because the kiosks and shops were covering up and locking  doors. We flew in through solid clouds for the last 15 minutes or so. I’m thankful that the pilots are well trained and know they can trust their instruments! We were on a 757, the same plane my nephew Jim Walter flies for FedEx, except that the cargo on ours was a little rowdier than I imagine his to be. 

There were numerous things of interest in the Anchorage airport, but at 1:30 in the morning, 21 hours after I got up, I was thinking about finding a bed and not looking for photo ops. I did get one of the “greeter”,  but will have to wait before I can post it. Check back later! Our motel had a good hot breakfast for us, Andi will be here in an hour or so and then we’ll be off to check out Alaska.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

