One man’s weeds…

are another man’s flowers! As I’ve walked along the country roads since we’ve been back in Kansas, I’ve noticed such pretty flowers in the ditches. Yes, I know most of them are technically weeds, but they’re pretty, anyway. I remember as a little girl bringing “flowers” to my mother, just dandelions really, but Mother thanked me graciously and took care of them as though they had come from a florist. Then when my children were little, I was the recipient of those bouquets and we always put them in water to keep.

dandelion

Later as a homeowner trying to keep a nice looking lawn, the fluffy head that developed from that pretty flower just meant trouble as the seeds took flight across the yard. Still, it’s hard to resist blowing them and watching the tiny parachutes fly in the wind.

fluff

 

Some blooms aren’t as easy to identify and I never cared much about their names, but Google gives us a good selection from which to choose. These beauties may grace a roadside and not a crystal vase, but they still make me smile.

purple flower yellow flower

 

I couldn’t help but think that my dad would have had something to say about the farming practices necessary to irradicate bindweed and cheatweed! Still, they add to the scenery along the road.

bindweed and weeds

 

This weekend FTD brought a delivery of real flowers from our son, tulips to be exact and while they have struggled, some more successfully than others to survive their transport, the colors are beautiful. Today at church each mother received a stem of colorful flowers of one variety or another and even those were called “weeds” by one gentleman in the congregation (who will remain nameless and to whom I am NOT related, I might add). I put them in with my surviving tulips and they make a lovely display in the fireplace.

vase

 

Since we will be spending more time here than we do some years, we bought a few perennials to plant in the flagpole planter and they add color outside our building.

flagpole pot

 

The real flowers in any mother’s gardens, though, are her children and grandchildren. Sadly, only part of the family was with us for lunch but all of them help make up a pretty bouquet, no matter where they are today.

Bailey Ben Jadelyn Tim and Heidi

 

Happy Mother’s Day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

