Stuff

Stuff is the bane of a full-timer’s existence, it seems to me. We worked so hard to get rid of stuff in the weeks and months, maybe even years, before we finally moved into the bus full time, just to begin accumulating again. Periodically I go through my closets and drawers, weeding out items I don’t use. Since Christmas brought a few more items, I pulled out some to go out. And still, I’m attracted to more! Primarily, clothes, shoes and kitchen gadgets. We’ve been frequenting RV supply houses lately looking for parts for Florence Marie’s RV and each one has its own selection of goodies that call my name. So far I’ve turned my back on most, if not all, the enticing gadgets but I think it may be time to do some clearing out just so I will be ready to scratch the itch in Quartzsite, where there are more kitchen items than I ever knew existed. Oh, and maybe a new purse or two!

Today was a fellowship dinner at church so I don’t plan to cook this evening. To be truthful, I probably wouldn’t have, anyway, but it sounds better this way. We never had a full meal at home on Sunday evening as I was growing up, so I always assumed that was the way it should be. LeRoy hasn’t yet adjusted, after 49+ years, to being “starved” on Sunday evening! We brought home enough bread today from the church bread ministry that he can always fix a sandwich. The company that makes bread for Trader Joe’s makes their Saturday overruns available to a gentleman from our church who brings wonderful artisan breads every Sunday for us to take. We try to get enough for ourselves and to share with others. Today’s bounty included a huge thick-sliced loaf of a relatively dense bread that tastes like a potato bread. There are also several loaves of some quick bread which we plan to share with the hymn- singing crowd tonight. No one should go away hungry!

We’ve played Mexican train dominos a couple of times this week. Florence Marie stayed with us to play on New Year’s Eve and the game ended just before midnight. Then we joined Ron and Carol Young for a game that will probably be an ongoing event while they are here. I hesitate to call it an ongoing rivalry since they are very good at it and almost always win! I’m sure they do not feel threatened by our abilities!

Our women’s Bible study starts up again this week. I’m looking forward to leading the discussion, which gets pretty lively sometimes.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuff

  1. Rhonda Rose says:

    I’m with you on the editing moves. I may about the age you were when you and LeRoy began your journey of simplifying. Would love to be in Bible study with you. It is that time again, though I am intentionally looking at and memorizing Psalm 84 in preparation to our trip to Israel in October. Just taking a verse a week, reading, listening, journaling, cross-referencing, studying. So rich and revealing so much about Who He is.

Leave a Reply

