Can you say “Polar Vortex”?

Oh my, what a change of weather we’ve had this week! Last weekend we were outside in long sleeves, Monday was warm and sunny…and then the hammer dropped, as well as the temperatures. I know lots of folks have it worse, but we are just not used to below freezing temperatures. We are glad to have our “weather windows” in the side of the building just outside our bedroom and living window because we’ve hardly had the big front doors open since Monday except to drive out and back in. And then this morning, we woke up to falling snow. The forecasters had been saying a trace to 2 inches here but I think it might have overachieved just a little. It’s over now but still no sun. Sure is pretty if you can just look out at it and not have to be in it!

winter at northridge

IMG_3948[1]

 

This colder weather gives me the urge to bake. Early in the week I made dinner rolls for the freezer. That way I’m not so apt to eat the whole batch by myself although I was tempted when they were fresh out of the oven and we had real butter in the refrigerator. Nothing else sounds so good as soup and casseroles when the weather is cold and last night I tried out a new Potato Salad soup (otherwise known as dill pickle soup, Google it). Yum! I made half a recipe and we still had enough for another meal left over. Today the youth at church did a Chili Quake Off to raise money for a trip to San Diego next month and we had our fill of good chili, with or without beans, and baked goods. Smelling all that good food made it really hard to concentrate during the worship service, though!

When I was in high school in northern Kansas, we had a new home ec teacher who grew up in another area of the state and when we were getting ready for our soup and chili supper, she told us we would have to have several kinds of soup and two kinds of chili, with and without beans. We thought Miss Ryan had lost her mind. None of us had ever heard of chili without beans! When I met LeRoy, who grew up in norther Oklahoma, told me he didn’t think I knew what real chili was because if you couldn’t stand a spoon up in it, it was just chili soup! As a matter of fact, that’s what Mother called it, chili soup. LeRoy is now responsible for the making of any chili that happens in our household!

Not that we’re anxious or anything, but this time next week we’ll be on the road headed for parts south and west. See you on the road!

 

 

This past week and the one we’re headed into are filled with last minute important things, like eating with friends and haircuts. All the last minute essentials like draining the hot tub can’t happen until later in the week. By then the weather forecasters are predicting warmer weather, anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can you say “Polar Vortex”?

  1. ED says:

    I just caught up reading your blog after I lost, and recovered, it. You will be passing by just north of me on your way to Tucson; wave as you go by.

    I’ll ‘winter over’ at Hickiwan Trails near Why, AZ. Stop by if you are down that way this winter. I may try to stop and see you in Feb-Mar as I move back toward the east.

Leave a Reply

