Family doesn’t have to be related

We had a very enjoyable time at my family reunion this past Sunday. The families who gather there are the descendants of my maternal great-grandparents, Thomas and Elizabeth Melton. My grandfather, John Melton, was one of their sons and my mother was his only daughter. She had 4 older brothers and one younger one but they have now all passed away. My sisters and I are now among the oldest generation in that part of the family. Since I’m the baby of the family and Mother was next to youngest of her siblings, I am closer in age to some of my second cousins than I am to their parents. One first cousin, Eugene Melton from Texas, was able to attend this year. He’s the oldest living cousin.

2014-09-28 12.08.48

 

My first adult memory of Eugene was when they were camping with my uncles and Mother in Oklahoma, so he and his wife Pat are RVers from way back. We showed off the bus to anyone who wanted to see her. We’ve learned over our time as full timers that most people fit in two categories: they either wish they could do what we do or they think it’s a pretty crazy idea although they put it more tactfully than that.

My great-grandmother Lizzie was a strong pioneer woman. She raised a whole passle of kids in a one room sod house while her husband and some of the older boys worked on the railroad. When she got tired of the cramped quarters, she and the boys still at home plowed sod and built another room! Lizzie scared off Indians by pretending that the children had a disease, smallpox, I think. Along with raising children, she was also a recorded minister in the Friends church, doing funerals and weddings for the community. No wonder I am a strong willed woman!

This week we are in Branson, MO for another Eagle rally. We don’t usually have them so close together but we really enjoy our Eagle family when we do gather. This time there are 23 Eagles, 3 Prevosts and a couple of motorhomes at least part of the time. We come from Washington, California,  Nevada, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Tennessee, Arkansas, South Carolina and Arizona. There may be more states that I’m missing but we really like it when we are together. There will be an open house this afternoon so that we can tour each other’s buses if we want to. We always get a few ideas because a bus conversion is never really DONE!

The best part of the Branson rally is always food and shopping. As a matter of fact, I expect to do more of the latter very soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

