Auld acquaintance??

Another year has ended and a new one has begun. I’m so thankful that with the change from one year to another, I don’t have to start all over with friendships.

Many years ago when LeRoy was discharged from the Army and we began what would be a pretty nomadic life, I was crushed at the thought of moving away from my best friend. Sharon Orrell and her husband Eldon had attended the same church we did in Texas and had often put their meager resources with ours toward the end of the month to have a decent meal. They were headed back to California and we were going home to Wichita. I thought I’d never see her again and my heart hurt.

Tack on a few years. Our new best friends, Johnny and Karen Schmidt, had taken our suggestion and bought the house across the street from us in Park City, KS. Our kids were interspersed in age with theirs and we had infiltrated each other’s lives. But LeRoy’s new job was taking us to northern Kansas and again I was bereft. I just knew there would never be another Karen!

And you know, I was right! There has never been another Karen but there have been many, many new friends and they are more valuable to me than any possession could possibly be. Every move we made gave me at least one new very close friend, the kind who would drive an hour to pick us up at 2 o’clock in the morning if we needed help.

In the long run, there have only been additions, not subtractions. Sharon and Eldon live in Barnes, KS now and we are familiar with their family and their lives. Johnny and Karen still live in Wichita and are the rock of stability for us, the yin to our yang.

So ask me, should auld acquaintance be forgot and never brought to mind? Oh no, not on your life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

