Father’s Day

I was blessed with a loving, hard-working farmer for a father. This week I went to a Friends Women meeting and we were asked to tell memories of fun times we did something fun with our fathers. The first thing, one of my earliest memories of my daddy, wasn’t a fun one for either of us. I remember Daddy taking me out of church when I had misbehaved. After my spanking, I was crying and he told me that if I didn’t be quiet, he’d give me something to cry about. I thought I already HAD something to cry about! Seriously, my best memories of Daddy were when we sang together, especially in the car. I learned to sing lead against his tenor and Mother’s alto very early, since my sisters were gone from home by the time I was 9. We carried song books in the glove compartment and every time we went farther than the county seat, we sang and sang and sang. To this day I hear his voice on certain songs, especially songs that he and Mother sang together. Later, he became known as Granddad and he was just as teasing with his grandchildren as he had been with us girls. He loved to give us whisker burns and I think all the kids remember those.

willis0000004A0000035A

I also married a man who turned into a wonderful father, although I wasn’t thinking about that at the time I made the choice! LeRoy has taught our kids how to drive a stick shift (in a dune buggy on the sand dunes) and how to change the oil in a car. He taught them about commitment and loving enough to step in when someone else can’t fulfill a commitment, even delivering papers on a paper route and cooking supper (usually pancakes) on Wednesday when the kids had handbell practice and I was still at work. From early parenthood to grandparenthood six times over, he’s always got a surprise in store.

willis0000004A0000012A

Today we’re leaving on another adventure, the first of its kind. The three youngest grandchildren are all going with us to South Dakota and Wyoming to see Mt. Rushmore and  Yellowstone and everything in between. The generator isn’t working, even after several hours of work on LeRoy’s part, thus no A/C, but we are pressing on regardless!

Happy trails and wish us well!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

