My personal handyman

One of the things I’ve loved about Liberty from the first time I saw it, is the pantry. It has three shelves to hold anything I think I might need in the kitchen, with the exception of utensils and appliances. I could pull each one out to reach everything on it. Terrific!

And for the 3 1/2 months we were parked before our retirement, it was great. For the first couple of travels, I pulled them out and pushed them in, showed the pantry to everyone who came to visit because I was so proud of it. Then came the time that we stopped for awhile and a shelf wouldn’t pull out. LeRoy looked and said it was an easy fix, the wheel had dropped the back of the track. No problem! Before long, though, it became a recurring event. Every time we stopped, we had to unload one (or more) shelves so LeRoy could put the sliding mechanism together again. If one fix didn’t work, maybe another would. This time, though, none of the shelves would pull out. It was as if they were locked in place.

This week we are in Clarksville, TN and since our son Robert is working every day, our time is our own and LeRoy decided he would make a more permanent repair. The original equipment was more than adequate for occasional travelers who put in what will be needed for the specific trip, but that’s not the way it works when you live in the bus. Besides, I seem to think that I need everything here that I had in our sticks-and-bricks house, which equates to a LOT of weight.

So for what we hope is the last time, LeRoy unloaded the pantry and started working on a real repair.

The process wasn’t pretty. I thought he was going to have to destroy the drawers to get them out! Turns out, he just destroyed the track and wheels. This time he totally replaced the slide mechanisms with heavy duty ones. We could put a grandchild in there and it would still pull out!

While they were out, we replaced the drawer liners. I think I’ve become my mother. One of her most frequent redecorating aids was Contact Paper and that’s what I used, too.

While we were at it, I sorted through all the stuff we were carrying. You know how spices and herbs have “best used by” dates? I won’t tell you what some of them were, but let’s just say they weren’t at their freshest. Do I really need two containers of dry mustard? Really, even one is more than I’ll use in a lifetime. Why do I have two bottles of almond flavoring when I haven’t used any in months?

After culling what I’m sure we haven’t used in the year we’ve lived in Liberty, we probably don’t even need the heavy duty slides!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My personal handyman

  1. Heidi Pohlman says:

    Three heavy duty drawers, three grandchildren, let’s do the math. hehe Honestly, I don’t think Jadelyn would get inside! 🙂

Leave a Reply

