Note to Self

Note to self–feet first on the steps, not face first!

Yesterday afternoon our friends Art and Cindy Wales dropped in with their Eagle conversion to spend the night. Art honked his train horn (Eagle owners are proud of those) and I turned to go over to the office to welcome them, tripped on a shoestring, I think, and went down the steps face first. I ended up with my face in the dashboard with my glasses at an angle. For such lightweight frames, they are remarkably resilient! My lip? Not so much. I scuffed the side of my face but didn’t break any teeth or bones, so I think the rest will heal. Cindy told LeRoy if he ever laid another hand on me, he’d catch it from her! This morning the lip looks a little better and my right shin is pretty bruised but not so swollen, so all’s well that ends well.

We met Art and Cindy in Quartzsite at the bus rally in January. We met up with them again in Yuma, where they own a little house and RV site. Home for them is Moreno Valley, CA. They had spent the weekend at Country Thunder up near Phoenix and came by here on their way home.

Eagles are known to cover their towed vehicles in oily dirt, so their car has a personalized plate that says it all.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Note to Self

  1. Rotha Cloyd says:

    OUCH!!! Warren would tell you, ” Girl, you’d better settle down!” 🙂 Glad you didn’t break anything! I’ve fallen 3 times this past year, and it’s not fun AT ALL!!! Take care of yourself…love ya’ll!!!

  2. Joyce says:

    I feel for you. I fell this year and landed face first against the white board in front of seventh graders. Fortunaty, I only broke my glasses and had a couple of small bruises. All heals in good time. Glad you are okay.

  3. Barbara Westerfield says:

    So sorry to hear of your tumble. I know it hurts more than it looks. Hope you are back to tip top shape soon. BTW, cute hair.

    • 2010liberty says:

      The hair is an experiment. We bought a longer guard for the clippers and LeRoy cut it. I’ve learned that I have a more pronounced cowlick in the front than I thought! And I feel like I’m sporting a mohawk with the white sides! Other than that, I think it’s a fairly successful experiment. And cheap, too!

  4. Tom Westerfield says:

    So glad you didn’t do a face plant into the gravel. Love your hair cut. I’m batchin’ a couple of days here in Fresno while Barbara and our daughter ,Jennifer, are in Stockton doing a conference.
    Again, so glad you weren’t more seriously hurt, God Bless you both and hope to see you later this summer……………Tom & Barb

    • 2010liberty says:

      Glad you like the hair! I’ll pass your compliment to LeRoy, my barber.
      I escaped without a bunch of scabs, so other than the lip and a huge bruise on my leg, I think I’m going to make it.

  5. Deb Farnham says:

    I know that you’re anxious to try all kinds of new experiences, but face-planting into the dashboard? Really? Glad you came through the experience with your sense of humor! Heal up – and always tie your shoes!

Leave a Reply

