A Productive Week

Just like about every other household in the United States, the time has come to pull out the tax paperwork. It’s really much simpler in a bus because there are far fewer places in which I might have tucked away a receipt or bank record, but it doesn’t make it any less dreaded. Ask LeRoy. It took me all morning yesterday to get up the nerve to start!

This year has thrown several curves into the process. We sold our house, sold the family farm, retired and moved our state of residence to South Dakota. Fortunately we have a dependable accountant back home who can figure it all out. We’ve never done this long distance before, but he assured us that it wouldn’t be a problem. After a couple of false attempts, I finally got what I think is the final draft on its way this afternoon. We’ll see when he gets started!

The other bit of productivity was that I finished my first project for Sew Much Comfort, an organization that provides adaptive clothing for wounded soldiers. They sent me a pair of athletic shorts and all the notions (except thread) that I would need to open the right side and attach a snap and velcro. The sewing machine hasn’t been used to do much more than sew up a seam or hem jeans for a very long time. The iron has been used even less frequently, but at least I kept one. I don’t intend to make a habit of using it for anything other than sewing, though, so I didn’t bring along the ironing board! It felt pretty good to complete that first project. I sent it back for quality checking and once they approve my abilities, I can choose my own projects following the directions they give me. That’s something I can do on the road and it feels good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

