Odds & ends

I really like being able to order things via the internet. That way it doesn’t matter what size town we visit or what stores are nearby. I have a few favorite clothing stores and I know what size fits without having to try on each garment. Most of the time.

When we were in Arizona, I ordered some things that caught up with us this week here in Kansas and everything fit. Everything, that is, except for one pair of pants that were designed for someone whose height was considerably more than mine. So rather than shorten them, I decided to return them to the local store in Wichita. The problem with that is that while you’re in the store, you begin to look around and everything you like costs considerably more than the returned item, since it was on clearance. Temptation was rampant! Some things are just so cute, but I’ve never been very successful at making scarves look as great on me as on the mannequin. I’m a sucker for jackets but I have to remember that I have limited space. In the end, I walked out of the store without any additional purchases after all.

My retirement gift from my former employer was a Nook, an electronic reader from Barnes & Noble. Bless my boss! She knew I love to read and was thinking about the aforementioned limited space, so bought me the perfect gift. I pre-ordered John Grisham’s latest book and it downloaded on the day it arrived in stores. I had just started reading it when I noticed the battery was getting pretty low, so I plugged it in. When I picked it up to begin reading again, it wouldn’t wake up. That happened one other time and the customer service rep at B & N took the battery out, put it back and all was well. Since the book store was across the parking lot from the clothing store, I took my Nook in to the service counter. Close to 30 minutes later, I walked out with a new Nook! They couldn’t make it wake up, either! Fortunately, my “library” list is kept online and when the first device was deactivated, all my books were saved for the activation of the new one. Mr. Grisham is just waiting for me to get off the computer and take up where I left off, so I’ll check in with you at a later date!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Odds & ends

  1. Becky says:

    The Grisham book is keeping me up nights! I’m almost finished….less than 100 pages. It’s a good one—anticipating the last twist to the story. Hope you enjoy it—sorry your Nook failed!

Leave a Reply

