It’s official, I just need the cap

Okay, I’ve said it long enough. It was time to put up or shut up. So I DROVE THE BUS! 

The conditions weren’t ideal, with no shoulder to speak of, in New Mexico, but there wasn’t much traffic and I figured it’s now or never. So I told LeRoy I thought I was ready to drive. I didn’t drive far, probably 10 miles or less, but it really wasn’t so bad. Okay, a little tense at first and I muttered a lot under my breath (and out loud, too), but I met cars and trucks, went up and down hills and survived! So this morning after we got into Texas, the conditions were a little more favorable (wider shoulders, straight and mostly level roads) and I offered to drive again. This time, believe it or not, I even lifted a hand to wave at passing RVers! I drove about 30 miles or so, but we were approaching Dalhart and I wasn’t quite prepared to take on driving in town yet so I turned the wheel over to the more competent LeRoy.

Not that I’ll plan on taking on long range driving duties any time soon, you understand, but I have put my money where my mouth was…and I can call myself a bus driver!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s official, I just need the cap

  1. Paul Lawry says:

    Good for You! I’m glad to see you get behind the wheel, even though it’s a real stretch for reach huh! I’m sure LeRoy will get you the hat, once you go through a trip pre-check!

  2. Anne Willis says:

    Thanks, Paul! Once we get nice seats like yours it will be much easier to reach.

Leave a Reply

