Bits and pieces

One of the things a full-timer needs to figure out is a fitness routine that fits the lifestyle. For years, I walked with a friend at the mall in Wichita, just about every morning during the workweek. And while I can walk in the RV park, the most relevant question is, will I?

I’m torn. When we walked at the mall, I was waking up every morning to an alarm clock anyway. I just set the alarm for earlier. These days, I’ve become accustomed to waking when I’m ready, lounging around with coffee which my husband graciously brews for me and just taking my time. By the time I’m dressed and look presentable, I’m not really in the mood for exercise. My e-mail and Facebook call me, along with blogs I regularly read. Exercise tends to be sporadic rather than regular when you no longer have a routine. We walked at the Sierra Vista mall this morning and it felt comfortable. Now to make it routine!

A few days ago we noticed new neighbors in the RV park, a beautiful Phaeton coach. This morning as we were eating breakfast, I saw the wife taking something to the trash can and I said, not for the first time, that we need to go meet the new folks. So a few minutes later, we walked across and knocked on the door. We’ve always found RVers friendly and these were no exception. They invited us in and when we introduced ourselves, we recognized their names. One of the blogs we read regularly is Nick Russell’s Gypsy Journal and these folks are close friends of his, Orv and Nancy Hazelton! What a surprise! Their son is stationed here at Ft. Huachuca, where our son Robert served 6 or so years ago, and may be moving on to Ft. Campbell, Robert’s current station. It’s a small, small world.

We’ve discovered that Arizona is not a good place to find cold weather items for the RV, like an item to keep the wet bay warm during the weather we’re likely to encounter in a Kansas winter. Checking out the local hardware stores and Sutherlands and Lowe’s revealed that where Kansas stores would have heaters, etc. in seasonal this time of year, those same stores still have plants! We ARE in the warm country, and we’re loving it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

